Art as Truth

Art is a deception that creates real emotions – a lie that creates a truth. And when you give yourself over to that deception, it becomes magic. — Marco Tempest

An interesting quote by an inventive magician who likes to use technology – computer generated imagery and quick cut video.  You can watch him on TED.com, where he says that magicians are the only honest art practitioners as they promise to deceive you.

I can only speak from my personal experience,and I must disagree with Marco Tempest. I dance and consider dance art.  When I truly and really dance – giving myself over to the music, the partnership, the connection –  it becomes magical.  Is it a deception that I am giving myself over to?  In the space of time and 3D location when I give myself over to the dance I am being completely present.  To me there is no illusion as that is where I am during the song and dance, with mind, body and soul. To make more of it, then, that is where the deception lies.  To say one is there when one isn’t is being deceptive.  For me to be authentic and real is to practice art in the moment – my promise to you and me.

Leave a Reply

