“Sentiment without action…

…is the ruin of the soul.”

Edward Abbey (1927 – 1989. Radical American author and essayist known for his environmental advocacy and criticism of public land policies.)

“Practice, and if necessary preach”

St Francis of Assisi (1182-1226,  Beloved patron saint of animals, birds, and the environment.)

That this idea is repeated through the ages indicates it has truth in it, and we see this in action through Mahatma Gandhi (1869 – 1948).  Did you know that Gandhi read the bible and was influenced by the Christian faith.  I too am guided by this faith and see sentiment in action through the lives of Catholic saints.  Mother Theresa is my favorite for many reasons, and became even more so recently when I read what she said about religion.

“Religion is not something that you or I can touch.  Religion is the worship of God – therefore a matter of conscience.  I alone must decide for myself and you for yourself, what we choose.  For me, the religion I live and use to worship God is the Catholic religion.  For me, this is my very life, my joy, and the greatest gift of God in his love for me.  He could have given me no greater gift.”

Mother Theresa (1910 – 1997)

An amazing Catholic evangelist, yet not one that immediately comes to mind.  She wasn’t like those fiery preachers we see on TV, but a person who completely embodied the values of her faith.

A takeaway lesson in evangelism, whether it be religion, or something else like dance that I share through djing, teaching, social dance and more.

Leave a Reply

